Sarah Palin: Becauses She’s a Woman?

Sarah Palin

Sarah Palin

Governor Sarah Palin probably has been more scrutinized than any Vice-Presidential candidate in recent history, if ever.  The “Stop Palin Now” movement just demonstrates the controversy McCain’s pick for VP has stirred.

But why is a Vice-Presidential candidate the source of so many news stories and blog entries (including my own)?  Is there an unspoken message that people do not feel that McCain will last out his term as President?  Or is there a bitterness knowing that the first potential female President might not be Hilliary Clinton?

Whether or not you like her as a person or as a politician, there is no justification to judge her on her motherhood.  When was the last time a male candidate was asked if he were a good father to his children?  Such attacks only diminishes the opposition’s significance in the debate.  They become relegated to “rhretoric rousers.”

I am not saying whether or not I support McCain/Palin or Obama/Biden, but I would feel better if the debates and commercials would stick with the facts, list what the candidates support, and give us a clearer picture of what to expect from either side.  (The jaded amongst us already has the answers: Republicans = Big Business, Democrats = Big Government.)  But generalizations aside, we deserve better answers from all the candidates.

And my questions to Palin would not involve housework either.


Do you have any opinions on this matter?  Please share your thoughts below:

Quote from Eckhart Tolle’s “Stillness Speaks”

Sometimes surrender means giving up trying to understand
and becoming comfortable with not knowing.” ~ Page 26

Living with Atypical Bipolar Disorder – (Complete Text)

Depression

Depression

Bipolar Disorder

Bipolar Disorder (also known as Manic-Depression) is a mental illness in which one doesn’t have complete control of one’s emotions. Everyone is affected by emotional events. But with the bipolar individual, one’s emotions can be random and very irrational.

Typical Bipolar Disorder is characterized by periods of depression – lasting weeks or months – alternating with a period of excessive energy (the manic phase). During the manic phase, it is possible for a person to exhibit psychosis and delusions.

With Atypical Bipolar Disorder, the cycle is skewed. Some people stay primarily depressed; others gravitate to the manic phase. With me, I am the former, not the latter.

My Experience

From an early age, I knew I was somehow “different.” At the time, I didn’t have the vocabulary to describe the emotional sensations with which I was experiencing. It wasn’t uncommon for me to have involuntary suicidal thoughts even during happy situations. My mind would switch on to the depressive mode and stay there for months at a time.

I only experienced the manic stage twice in my life – unable to sleep, eat, increased energy, and would become an overachiever in all the many tasks I would take on. But usually I had hypomania – a much lesser version of the manic stage. During hypomania, I would seem “normal” to most. Unfortunately, this stage in my mood swings is very fleeting.

Instead, I suffer from the severe depression that Bipolar Disorder brings – excessive sleepiness, low energy, weight gain, and suicidal feelings.

Social Impact of Being Atypical Bipolar

My life has been greatly affected by my disorder – so much so that I am currently seeking disability – begrudgingly – until proper treatment comes along. I lost my job as a computer technician due to absenteeism because of the low energy I experience. I haven’t lived up to my full-potential, no matter how hard I’ve tried. I’ve pushed away friends when I’m suffering from suicidal thoughts. My creativity greatly suffers, and I find it close to impossible to compose music during this cycle. It had also put a strain on my relationship – one of the reasons I am now single again.

Common Treatments and Their Pitfalls

Lithium and Depakote are the two main medications used to treat Bipolar Disorder. Unfortunately, I’m allergic to both of them.  And they can damage the liver if not taken at the correct dosage.

I’m currently on an antidepressant and mood stabilizer, along with medications for anxiety disorder. I am functional in that I can stay awake for longer periods of time but only barely. And writing seems to be the only outlet for which I can communicate with others and stay creative – I consider it therapeutic.

Long-Term Prognosis

There is no cure for Bipolar Disorder – Only treatment plans.  So far, I haven’t found the right one for me.  I can handle the suicidal ideation that manifests itself from time to time.  But the chronic fatigue can be unbearable.  It’s hard to differentiate between being ill and just being lazy.  I usually know it is the illness when I no longer find pleasure in the things that once made me happy.  So in the meantime, I must learn to live with the symptoms and do my best.

Do you have any questions concerning Bipolar Disorder or my infliction with it?  Please feel free to ask, and I will do my best to answer all questions that I can.