Death

Death.  The end of life.  Or a new beginning?

I’ve been obsessing over the topic once again, especially as summer passes into autumn and soon winter.  Also, the anniversary of my father’s death is getting nearer.  I’ve never been very good at grieving.

My gut feeling tells me that at death consciousness ends permanently.  Fortunately for me, my gut feelings have been wrong on several occassions, so I say the verdict is still out.

I sometimes think I don’t fear death as much as the act of dying.  Will it be painful?  Will it be sudden?  Most importantly, will it be soon?

As my therapist would tell me, focus on the present, or remember Eckhart Tolle’s teachings of “The Now.”  After all, that’s all we have.

If this post reads a bit funny, it’s because I’m writing it out completely through stream-of-consciousness.  I usually plan out my posts in advance, but I slept through most of Saturday with a headache, and I have an overwhelming desire to post something.  So why not “death?”

Personally, I like the idea of The Grim Reaper.  The personification of death seems to make it less frightening.  If he does exist, I just hope he has a good sense of humor.

Talk to me.  What are your thoughts on the subject?  Or do you prefer not to dwell on it?

I will be back tomorrow with something more coherent.

In the meantime, stay safe.