Review: The B-52s “Funplex” (2008)

The B-52s "Funplex" (2008)

The B-52s "Funplex" (2008)

Review:
The B-52s “Funplex” (2008)
Rating: 5/5 Stars

One word: Unbelievable!

The B-52s are back and are as fresh and relevant as ever. Just when you think “the B’s” have called it quits, they prove they are still a force to be reckoned with. Rather impressive for a band that began in 1976.

To put things into perspective, it’s been 10 years since their greatest hits CD “Time Capsule,” 16 years since “Good Stuff” – their last full-length CD (minus Cindy Wilson), and 19 years since “Cosmic Thing” – their first full-length CD without Ricky Wilson (Ricky Wilson, Cindy Wilson’s brother, died in 1985).

Now in 2008, “Funplex” brings back together Fred Schneider, Kate Pierson, Cindy Wilson, and Kieth Strickland for a new party album for a new millennium. With producer Steve Osborne on board, their sound is vibrant and dynamic, with still the quirkiness that makes The B-52s what they are. This is quite possibly their best work since the loss of Ricky Wilson.

The usual sound palette is present: organs, bongos, clanging-jangling guitars, rich drum beats, and infectious rhythms. Added to the sound is a base organic synthesizer presence which creates a rich tone, but is never sterile as some synthesizer sounds can be.

One aspect that really stands out is Kieth Strickland’s guitar work. He has managed to replicate (without ripping off) Ricky Wilson’s signature sound. It can be eerie at times, but it works perfectly.

Fred Schneider’s voice seems stronger than usual. While he still uses his “sprechgesang” style, he also proves he can carry vocal tunes as well.

And Cindy Wilson and Kate Pierson make their presence known as their voices compliment each other as always.

Without commenting on every song, there are a few that must be mentioned:

“Pump” – The quintessential B-52 song and probably their strongest opening song for a CD since “Planet Claire” on their debut album

“Funplex” – Their first hit from their new album rocks out about “mall life”

“Juliet of the Spirits” – An absolutely beautiful song to showcase Wilson’s and Pierson’s vocal work

“Hot Corner” – Another rock song that will stick in your mind

If you are a fan of The B-52s, you will love this CD. If your only exposure to the group has been “Love Shack,” it’s time to move into the “Funplex.” And if you are not a fan of the band, you may still be impressed with their new sound.

“Funplex” is definitely one of the “must-have” CDs of 2008!

To learn more about The B-52s, click here.

To go to their new label, click here.

Programmed to Think: Life Inside a Cult – Part 8 (Final)

Doubt vs. Belief

I stayed in the order long enough to become an acolyte of Druidism. But unfortunately, the dark forces of doubt, skepticism, and cynicism began to put a wedge between me and the rest of the people of the order. I felt like I was being drawn into another dogma, one of fantastic imagery and idealism, but still a dogma nonetheless. The us-against-the-world mentality began to annoy me. Starlight feared that another “burning time” – a period when witches were burned at the stake throughout Europe – would be upon us soon.

So I left the order behind. It was easy to do; they never threatened me or try to manipulate me into staying. By the end of the summer, I was able to get rehired at the place I quit and/or fired from (that’s another story), this time with a new boss. And my suicidal depression was lifting to my usual mundane depression.

I lost contact with all members of the order. Eleven years later, I do not know if they even exist anymore as a group.

Signs of a Dangerous Cult

Luckily, I fell into a safe, benign cult, and I was able to leave without any terrible consequences. But I feel that I should list just a few of the telltale signs of a dangerous cult for the reader to be aware of:

  • The cult wants you to sever your ties with friends and family.
  • You are not allowed to watch or read the news or know what is going on in the outside world.
  • You are manipulated into staying, either with threats or with guilt.
  • There is a charismatic leader that you must obey at all times.

You can learn more about dangerous cults at F.A.C.T.net.

Postscript

As I’ve mentioned before, I try to stay skeptical but have an open mind. And sometimes things occur in life that are hard to explain away in conventional terms. Here is one such disturbing event:

It was the fall of 1997. I have been out of the order for a few months and had a new job. Things were improving for me.

One evening, I was downstairs watching television when I heard a voice telling me to go outside. It wasn’t an audible voice and it wasn’t my usual internal monologue. I tried to shake it off, but I had a “gut feeling” that I needed to go outside.

With a sense of unease, I finally decided to take walk out back behind the house. It was an overcast sky, very dark. But over the neighbor’s house was a huge symmetrical light array just hovering in the sky. There was silence.

The lights were all white; none were blinking or colored. I could not make out the shape of what they were attached to but the object had to be low and/or huge. The lights remained motionless.

Then suddenly, the whole array began drifting away until it disappeared over the horizon. No one reported it, or if they did the paper didn’t publish it.

My only mundane conclusion is that it could have been a blimp. If not, what was it? And if it were a blimp, what gave me the impulse to go outside to see it? Did the beings that we tried to summon last summer finally make an appearance to me? Like most things of this nature, I will probably never know the correct answer.

Programmed to Think: Life Inside a Cult – Part 7

Back to the Circle

Upon our arrival, the other five were excited about something they had noticed. Right above the circle, there was a circular hole in the cloud cover. I did witness this too. While it could simply be sheer coincidence, it was odd to see. We continued the ritual until either Danny or Starlight said it was over. Nothing else occurred that night.

After telling Danny about my sensation of energy in the woods, he told me I needed further spiritual training – I needed to become a druid too.

So with the next visit to Starlight’s home, Danny began to put me on the path to Druidism. But what would that entail?

Danny the Druid

Danny was only about 19 years old at the time, but he had significant influence over Starlight and her husband. He was a druid and was the main spiritual leader for the men of the group, while Starlight lead the women. The separation of genders is a common element in many cults.

It is might be difficult to tell from my blog entries, but my time with the order lasted only about a month and a half, maybe two maximum. We didn’t meet every day, so my “training” was spread out over a period of nonconsecutive days.

And by training I mean specialized meditations. Danny, despite his youth, was a great mediator when it came to guided meditation and creative visualization. Following his instructions, I experienced a brief but vivid out-of-body experience, saw fantastic visions, and could use all five senses during a mental imagery. No chemicals or drugs were used at any time; it was all done through the mind (or in his words, spirit).

At some point I was given a spiritual name (for the life of me I cannot recall it but it sounded Gaelic) and a green robe that Starlight had made for me for the evening rituals, which were performed at random intervals.

I stayed skeptical throughout my stay with the order, but I did have a lot of curiosity which kept me from leaving. Also, the rituals, which were quite peaceful, produced some very strong emotional and mental effects.

CONCLUDED IN PART 8

Programmed to Think: Life Inside a Cult – Part 6

Approaching the Presence

Starlight and I left the circle and walked towards the woods. Starlight started asking gently for the beings to come forward, assuring them that we were friendly and safe. I joined her and asked them nicely to please show themselves.

I felt foolish on two levels. On one level, I thought we were being silly, two adults standing alone at the edge of the woods talking to nothing at all – just any empty woods, save for the squirrels, rabbits, and birds. But on the other hand, if there were space aliens or interdimensional beings (maybe good, maybe evil) present, would it be wise to ask them to come to us? If Danny really were zapped by one of them while in the magically protected circle, what would happen to us standing here in the dark away from the others?

After countless minutes, I became daring and began walking the tiny trail the lead into the woods. Starlight thought I was just displaying male bravado, but I was really just anxious for something, anything, to happen. My thought was, if these entities actually did exist, whether they come from another planet or another dimension, they could harm us at any time they wanted.

As I walked the trail, suddenly I felt an electrical charge in the air, the hairs on my body starting to stand upright. I didn’t feel scared but a sense of awe. All of this was a subjective feeling; I have nothing to show for it. But I did feel something. After a while, this sense of energy dispersed.

I went back to Starlight and told her what had occurred. She said she could sense that the entities had left, so we went back to the circle.

CONTINUED IN PART 7