Writer’s Block: When the Words Quit Flowing


Well, I knew it would happen sooner or later.  I have writer’s block – the condition where the brain ceases to be communicative.  I have a series of ideas and topics I wish to post, but my writing seems to be dismal at the moment.

So I decided to write about writer’s block.  I will finish the piece on Bipolar Disorder soon; I won’t let that dangle on forever.  I just don’t want to give it a “rush job” ending.

I’m currently using a free open source mindmapping tool called “FreeMind.”  It’s useful to organize brainstorming activities.  I highly recommend it for any sort of “whiteboarding” projects.

Also, I’m currently reading an excellent piece titled “When the Writer in the Blogger Gets Stuck,” about writer’s block.  I’m hoping that will provide some much needed help.

In the meantime, I will just keep hammering away at my keyboard until something magical happens.

What techniques help you to overcome writer’s block?

2 Responses

  1. Eh!
    Thanks very much for mentioning my post. I am glad you did read it. I don’t think there is any blogger or writer who claims never to have been struck by writer’s block. I have, and I manage it just as I mentioned on my blog 😀

  2. Mainly, I just wait it out. Don’t know anything else to do.

Leave a comment