Obsession: Experienced from Both Sides


I have a confession to make: I have experienced what it is like to be obsessed with someone, someone that doesn’t even care about me. While I never was a stalker in the traditional sense – at least I certainly hope not – I’m sure I have caused stress in this woman’s life because of my attention.

On the flip side of the coin, I know what it is like to be the object of an obsession by a woman that I had no interest in having a relationship with. I know first-hand the difficulties and fear that can exist under this type of situation.

I think of it as karma.

In my next two posts, I’m first going to explore my obsession with a woman (I’ll call her “Janice” from here on out) that still echoes with me to this day, and then relate what it is like be the target of someone else’s obsession.

I think it’s important to discuss such difficult topics and not ignore them, hoping that they will go away. The dynamics of obsession are incredibly emotional, and if there isn’t a basis of reality grounding the obsessed person, it could lead to disaster.

I doubt either woman is ever going to read this, but I wish them both well in their respective lives. I just hope to be out of the picture in both cases.

Leave a comment